Prairieland Art Contest Champs and Congressional Art Competition

Prairieland Art Contest Champs

Congratulations to all the art students that participated and received awards in the Prairieland art contest!

This year the contest was held digitally with West Prairie acting as the host school. Each of the fourteen Prairieland school entered work into the eighteen different categories. The work was judged by three Western Illinois Art Professors. The combined effort and overall point total of the Elmwood art students gave Elmwood enough points to be named this year’s overall Prairieland champs.

Cassidy Gillum- 4th Oil/acrylic

1st Multimedia

3rd Pastel

Brock Schmick- 3rd Color pencil

1st Printmaking

Cassie Lafollett- 1st Watercolor

2nd Charcoal

3rd Pastel

Sam Seiple- 4th Watercolor

Emma Spainhower 5th Watercolor

Mia Swadinsky- 1st Charcoal

Claire CArnes- 1st Textiles

Hannah Burkiett- 2nd Textiles

3rd Ceramics

2nd Pastel

Bonnie Bowman- 3rd Textiles

Brogan Davis- 3rd Photo Not Altered

Allison Brush -4th Photo-Altered

5th Photo Altered

Alexia Herman- 2nd Ceramics

Congressional Art Competition

This year Elmwood has two art piece entered and displayed at the Congressional Art show held at the Riverfront Museum; a charcoal drawing entitled Scooped by Mia Swadinsky and a watercolor batik by Cassie Lafollett entitled Speckled Garden. Cassie Lafollett’s painting was one of the seven pieces selected out of the one-hundred twenty entities to receive honorable mention. After her recognition at the awards ceremony by Darin LaHood, her piece will hang in the Congressional office in Jacksonville, Illinois for one year. Congratulations students!!



Small Heading